A frantic week….

it seems to have been all go last week and we’re nearly halfway through this week and it shows no signs of stopping!

Most of my week was spent cutting and folding fabric to get ready for spending the day at Swindon in South Staffordshire for the Quilter’s Guild region 11’s area day.

And a very nice day I had too… I always get myself into a bit of a stew, fretting whether I’m taking the right sort of thing and will anyone want to buy anything, but I always have a lovely time. Meeting lots of lovely quilters who love fabric as much as I do!

trading at Swindon

trading at Swindon

I also get to hear the speaker, Saturdays speaker was Christine Porter giving a talk entitled ‘Have you looked down?’. Christine bases her quilts on interesting floor tiles that she sees in churches, cathedrals and other peoples house. She gave a very inspirational and humourous talk, it was such a pleasure to listen to her.

Christine porter's beautiful quilts

Christine porter’s beautiful quilts

The new range of Downton Abbey fabrics arrived last week too, Series II is lovely, I have chosen to have the full range of ‘Downstairs’ fabrics, which are based on shirting fabrics of the era, in muted tones and small prints

Downton fabric - Downstairs range

Downton fabric – Downstairs range

Downton Abbey - Downstairs range

Downton Abbey – Downstairs range

I’ve also had some of Lady Rose’s range – brighter with a Remmie Machintosh feel to it.

Lady Rose collection

Lady Rose collection

With it being October 1st tomorrow, it means the first Thursday of the month is this week and that means Staffordshire Patchwork & Quilters are meeting at Walton Community Centre on Thursday 2nd October at 7.15 p.m. The speaker is Julie Bull – textile artist. I shall have a trade table there (more cutting & folding!) so if there’s anything you’d like me to bring, drop me an e-mail or give me a call and I’ll be happy to bring it along.

Hope to see you there

Until next time

Happy Sewing

Jane X

Leave a Reply

