Feeling festive….

it’s taken me a while but I think I’m finally starting to getting into the Christmas spirit. Don’t get me wrong I’m no ‘Bah Humbug’ – I love Christmas, I’ve just not been feeling very festive recently, I don’t think this mild weather’s been helping.

So with the frosty weather at the beginning of the week and the exciting buzz in Eccleshall about the Christmas light switch on and the rumour that a certain jolly gent dressed in red will be visiting on Monday 1st December, I found myself humming Christmas tunes. Businesses in Eccleshall are encouraged to decorate their shop windows and there’s a prize for the best. It makes the town look lovely and there are some very clever themes. So with that in mind, I’ve been trying to think how to decorate my window – I like to keep my decorations relevant to the shop and I have made a Christmas quilt using some of the lovely fabrics in the shop.

I decided to trim the tree with some of the ribbons I stock and I came up with an idea to make a button garland.

Digital StillCamera

I threaded red and green buttons onto some thread, knotting them at the back as I went along.

Digital StillCamera

 

It made a quick, simple but effective garland.

Digital StillCamera

 

After making it, I thought it would be a good thing to make with children and you could use any buttons,especially colourful ones, a good way to keep them occupied for a little while and use up any odd buttons, you know the ones – we all have in that tin or jar that we keep ‘just in case’.

All the shops will be open late on Monday and although I don’t normally open on Mondays, I will be opening this Monday between 4 & 7 p.m, and will have a few hand crafted gifts for sale too. Hope to see you there.

We’ve had some classes too

Rita brought in a hanging that she started last year (we all have projects like that – don’t we?)

Rita's Christmas wall-hanging

Rita’s Christmas wall-hanging

she was inspired by the blue wreath hanging that I had done with the lights poking through and she has bought some red lights and is going to poke them through in the space for Rudolph’s nose and where the holly berries will go, clever huh?

Judy was has put the sashing between the blocks for her ‘Absolute beginner’ quilt

Digital StillCameradoesn’t it look good.

It’s the first Thursday of the month this week and that means Staffordshire  Patchwork & Quilter’s December meeting and there is a party this month, Zig-Zags, Angie and The Corner Patch will all be there with stalls, so plenty of retail therapy as well as cake. Maybe I’ll see you there and if there’s anything you want me to bring from the shop, don’t hesitate to ask.

Until next time.

Happy stitching X

 

One thought on “Feeling festive….

Leave a Reply

