Stars, geese and bag ladies….

not necessarily in that order, but it’s been a busy old week at The Corner Patch.

Tracy was teaching ‘Jelly Roll Stars’ at her workshop on Wednesday, despite feeling a bit under the weather, she soldiered on. Not a full class but the ladies enjoyed themselves and produce lots of stars and went home with some ideas of how to put them together.

Rachel's Stars

Rachel’s Stars

Alison's Red Stars

Alison’s Red Stars

Tracy's sample using Lewis & Irene Bumbleberries

Tracy’s sample using Lewis & Irene Bumbleberries

Chris was teaching the overspill ‘Block of the Month’ class (two classes have not been enough this year) and so several ‘Pinwheel Star’ were made and very lovely they looked too.

Sheila and Margaret's pinwheels

Sheila and Margaret’s pinwheels

Chris' sample - love the stripes

Chris’ sample – love the stripes

Chris also brought in a sample of an idea for next years ( yes, you heard right next year!) block of the month – teacups. I love the block and I had liberty fabric envy, it’s so pretty.

Liberty Teacup

Liberty Teacup

I’ve had a new toy and have been playing at making my own jelly rolls (I need an alternative name, any ideas?) I’ll need to be careful it’s a bit addictive! I could end up with a shop full of strippy rolls.

2015-02-26 11.58.36

Penny popped in to get some border fabric for this smashing quilt she’s making. She’s been practising her ‘flying geese’, I think it looks lovely, don’t you?

Penny's flying geese

Penny’s flying geese

Tracy was back again today, feeling a bit better but still not 100%, what a trooper! for ‘Bag of the Month’ – this month a ‘charm pack’ tote bag.

Some of the ladies whizzed off without me getting a picture (I’m going to have to lie in wait as they come down the stairs) but Jan let me take  a picture of hers. She just has to get the lining inserted, doesn’t it look a bit fabulous. I love the batik fabrics.

Jan's batik tote

Jan’s batik tote.

I think you’ll agree we’ve had a fun packed week. Next week looks to be just as busy – the new months ‘Block of the Month’ with Chris and on Thursday, it’s Staffordshire Patchwork & Quilters meeting again, it’s the AGM and l think there are lots of fun things going on. There will be lots of retail therapy, as not only will I be there, but so will Angie and Zig-Zags; what’s not to love?

Hope to see you there and if you wish me to bring anything, let me know, I’ll be happy to help.

Happy Sewing X

2 thoughts on “Stars, geese and bag ladies….

  1. alison humphries

    It was really kind of Tracy to still teach the Jelly Roll Stars class even though she was feeling so under the weather. It was a brilliant class and I am looking forward to making more stars over the next few weeks. Thanks Jane and Tracy for all the lovely opportunities to sew which you provide for us.
    Alison

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

