It’s been a while…..

I know I haven’t posted for a while and I have no excuses.

Yes, I’ve been busy, we’ve had lots of classes, but that’s not unusual, we always have lots of classes for all abilities and ages.

I’ve had a trade stand at a quilt show (it involves a lot of cutting and sample making & general fretting) – I was at Oldham on Saturday and a lovely day it was too, despite the horrid weather. It was great to meet all the lovely ladies (and gents) and to see all the fabulous quilts; there are some very talented people out there.

2015-03-28 13.37.37 2015-03-28 13.39.02 2015-03-28 14.30.29 2015-03-28 14.32.01 2015-03-28 14.35.08 2015-03-28 14.37.43

The truth is I haven’t known what to write about……

I don’t want to whinge about how little time I have, who doesn’t – we’re all busy and trying to fit more and more into every minute.

I could share with you my anxiety about whether I have the right fabrics, enough fabrics, the necessary notions. This running your own business is not easy, but I love it, I love the fabrics I stock and thankfully it seems my customers do too. I love sharing my small amount of knowledge about patchwork and quilting and inspiring other to get sewing – Harriet came in the other afternoon, wanting to know how to use her sewing machine better, we made a cushion and she was thrilled.

2015-03-26 16.26.40

I don’t want to complain about how I don’t seem to get anything done and how I could do with being in two (if not three) places at once. I don’t find the social media side of things very easy and I’m guilty of putting it off if there’s something else to do (that’s usually true with the ironing too! well all housework actually)

Don’t get me wrong I don’t feel sorry for myself (although it probably sounds like it), I’m extremely lucky to be doing a job I love, there are many people a lot worse off than me.

So I will take a deep breath and pull myself together and get on with it, because while I’m writing this I could be making up samples and cutting up fat quarters to keep my beautiful shop looking lovely.

It may be a while before I blog again – who knows? but I won’t beat myself up about it.

Until next time – happy sewing X

Leave a Reply

