Age is just a number

after having a birthday yesterday and being thoroughly spoiled.                                                        I’m not feeling my age if anything I still feel like I did in my early 20s, (until I look in the mirror !) and I’m of the opinion that age is just a number – if you think you can & you want to do something, go for it – seize the day, make every moment count and most of all enjoy what you do!

This has all come about because of  Amy, one of my ‘absolute beginner’ ladies. Amy got in touch with me at the beginning of the year because she quite liked the idea of making a quilt. She hadn’t done much sewing before, as being a farmer’s wife and raising 4 children, she hadn’t had much time for anything else. Her husband was poorly and as his main carer she didn’t have much free time but she had 2 hours on a Friday afternoon. So we set to work….

Amy's quilt

Amy’s quilt

2015-06-19 16.58.27

and this is the finished result, it just needs the ends tying in and the  hand stitching to attached the binding at the back, but I’m sure you’ll agree it looks fabulous.

Now, I’m going to tell you that Amy is 81 in a couple of months time, so I think you will understand why I found her so inspiring and it has made me more determined ‘not to sweat the small stuff’ and no matter what life throws at me, I will make the most of it.

and just to let you know Amy has just joined her local poetry group too – she’s a force to be reckoned with.

Until next time – Happy Stitching X

2 thoughts on “Age is just a number

Leave a Reply

