Something a little different for me

I have taken The Corner Patch on the road this week. With the help of Tracy and Ruth who cut and folded fabric until there was hardly any fabric left in the shop and my ever supportive, much put-upon hubby Glen, who put up with my fretting and changing of my mind, loaded up the van and off we went to Bristol to The West Country Quilt and Textile Show.

Now I’ve done shows before, but never so far from home. A three day show at Uttoxeter has the safety of only being down the road from the shop, so going to Bristol was a bit of a worry, what to take, how much and I think I must have written a hundred lists!

We’ve had a fantastic time!

The Corner Patch at Bristol

The Corner Patch at Bristol

I’ve met lovely people, the other stall holders have been incredibly supportive and chatted to super customers, we’ve shared our love of fabric and I’ve even been able to give some tips and advice. I’ve also seen some amazing quilts.

Falling Back by Gretchen Danckwardt - tiny hexagons in mouthwatering colours

Falling Back by Gretchen Danckwardt – tiny hexagons in mouthwatering colours

Cat and Dancing Butterfly by Ewa Jastrzebska - the most amazing applique and fantastic colour

Cat and Dancing Butterfly by Ewa Jastrzebska – the most amazing applique and fantastic colour

I'm really sorry I forgot to make a note of who made this, but I love the humour of it never mind the skill & beauty of it. Inspired by the makers quilt group.

I’m really sorry I forgot to make a note of who made this, but I love the humour of it never mind the skill & beauty of it. Inspired by the makers quilt group.

Subtle differences by Kay Bell - inspired by embossed wallpaper in her mum's bathroom. The quilting on this is breath-taking and the photo does it no justice.

Subtle Differences by Kay Bell – inspired by embossed wallpaper in her mum’s bathroom. The quilting on this is breath-taking and the photo does it no justice.

Just a taste of some of the incredible talent on show.

A fantastic time, so we might be taking The Corner Patch on the road a bit more, it’s a great way to meet lovely people and see inspirational quilts.

The van’s  a little bit lighter ( not very!-Glen) and so we’re homeward bound and then we just have to unload – oh dear!

One thought on “Something a little different for me

Leave a Reply

