and the winner is….

what a lovely weekend we’ve just had (how did it get to Friday already?) at The British Quilt and Stitch Show at Uttoxeter. It’s our local show and it’s  a lovely chance to meet customers old and new. I always offer a free prize draw on my stand and this year the prize was a Strawberry Fields Revisited from Moda charm pack and  Jill Maltby was the lucky winner. (it should be with you soon Jill)

Maggie SPQ chairlady draws the winner

Maggie Chair-lady of Staffordshire Patchwork & Quilters draws the winner

It was a very busy show with lots of lovely retail stands, inspirational workshops and an exhibition of quilts, wall-hangings and embroideries, to inspire us

The winning quilt was stunning, the quilting was exquisite, something to aspire to.

The overall winning quilt

The Overall winner of The British Quilt & Stitch show at Uttoxeter

 

However, I was much more interested in the ‘simpler’ quilts, they felt more obtainable, I would have been much happier with some of those on my bed and I think I wasn’t the only one who felt more likely to try some of the other quilt techniques on show. I had entered a quilt into the show, with no expectation of winning ( I wasn’t disappointed !) but I wanted to support the event. I feel strongly that Uttoxeter needs to be supported, we need to put more quilts, wall-hangings and embroideries in to be exhibited, we are so self-critical (me included)feeling that our work isn’t good enough/neat enough/fancy enough, but I think it is good enough

 

Without the exhibits there will be less visitors; less visitors means less traders and before we know it no local show – so please have a bit of courage and put your beautiful creations into the show and share them with others,(you don’t have to read the judges comments if you don’t want to.) Your quilt could be the one that inspires the first-time visitor to have a go at making their own.

Leave a Reply

