Is that Summer over then?

after spending today at the seaside in the glorious sunshine, I realised that the children start back at school next week and that Chris’ Block of the Month classes at The Corner Patch start again on Saturday. The nights are starting to draw in, the days are getting cooler and I think I have taken delivery of the last of my Christmas fabric, and the reps that have been visiting are talking about fabrics for next year !

We had the last of our ‘Little Stitchers’  classes this week, the girls made pencil cases, which involved sewing in zips, something that some grown-ups shy away from, but not these young ladies. Tracy and I have been so impressed with these girls, they have been really keen to learn and so enthusiastic, it’s been such a pleasure to teach them.

Lyn has got her ‘Boxed Star’ table-runner pieced together, layered and quilted this week and it looks fabulous, next step trimming and binding…

2016-08-27 13.06.48

which is what Sally has been doing and because we had mis-calculated the amount of fabric we needed for binding  – who am I kidding? it was me! I got it wrong! but it turned out O.K, we made a patched binding using a strip of all the fabrics in the runner and it looks pretty good if I do say so myself and nobody needs to know it was a mistake ( you won’t tell,will you?)

2016-08-27 14.20.28

just the hand sewing and it’s finished. Whilst Sally was binding Sylvie was trying a ‘folded star’ and making a very good job of it too. It’s going to look fabulous.

2016-08-27 11.15.53

As it’s the 1st of September on Thursday, it means that it’s the Staffordshire Patchwork and Quilters monthly meeting and the guest speaker is Lesley Brankin with her talk entitled ‘One thing leads to another’. Her work is beautiful, so I hope you can come to the meeting to see it for yourself.

I’m also going to be at Eccleshall Show on Saturday,  I shall be in the handicrafts marquee with my lovely fabrics. It’s a great family day out, with something for everyone – hope to see you there.

 

Leave a Reply

