Happy to Help

One of the things I love most about having my little shop is helping customers with their fabrics. I love fabric and colour (probably a good thing when you own a fabric shop!) and people often comment that I have a lovely selection and the shop is bright and colourful.

I also love teaching customers the basics of patchwork and quilting, it’s lovely to see them grow in confidence as the weeks go on and watch as they learn the different techniques. I always feel I’ve done a good job when they start to ask what they can do next, before they’ve finished their first project.

I have helped lots of ladies over last few years to learn the joy of patchwork and nearly all of them have continued to try other projects, some of them making new friendships along the way and forming their own little sewing groups that like to come and sew together at the shop. This gives me immense pleasure and makes me feel quite proud.

An example of this was just before Christmas, when I helped Heather to create a quilt for her son. She came to the shop to join one of our ‘Absolute Beginner’ course at the beginning of the year, and after completing that, she made a bag and a table runner and is really enjoying the fun that is patchwork.Heather had bought a panel with a picture of a wolf on it, but didn’t know what she wanted to do with it other than use it to make a quilt for her son who loves wolves. A friend gave her some fabrics that went with it and so we then started to work on a design. I chose ‘log cabin’ block and we chose rich browns and warm creams to compliment the colours in the panel and a deep teal blue and together we worked out a design. I decided it would be slightly easier to quilt is using the ‘quilt as you go’ method and so Heather made it in 3 sections.

I think you will agree she did a great jobheathers-wolf-quilt

and I know her son loved it.

We’re already starting on the next project – it involves ‘flying geese’ – watch this space!

 

Leave a Reply

