‘I’m useless with colour’.

This is a phrase I hear so often  – I actually don’t think it’s true.                                                      I’m of the opinion if you like the colours together then it will work and it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks.

However, I thought that I would share my process for matching colour with you.

Barbara has signed up to the ‘Trip around the World’ class in April and she’d seen the ‘Summer breeze IV’ fabric from Moda and asked if I could help her choose the rest of the fabrics.

For ‘Trip around the World’ we need 10 fabrics, so by Barbara choosing the range she had, we had 4 to start with….

2017-01-27-10-06-46

Two pretty florals with a tone on tone blue and yellow.

So firstly we looked at the blue, I suggested that we choose a shade darker and lighter

2017-01-27-10-07-42

and the same with the yellow

2017-01-27-10-08-49-2

I then suggest we had a contrasting colour and looking at the floral print, we chose a green in light and medium shade

2017-01-27-10-09-16-2

So there you have it 10 fabrics chosen ready for what I think will be a stunning looking quilt.

2017-01-27-10-05-14

My best advise to you would be – if you have a patterned fabric you love the colours of; use that to inspire your colour choices, you may not use the original fabric but you will have colours you like and that work together. Failing that come into the shop and I’ll love to help 🙂

One thought on “‘I’m useless with colour’.

Leave a Reply

