How did it get to be two weeks into July already?

June is always a busy month for our household – it’s mine and Glen’s birthday, as well as Glen’s sister, brother, our niece and nephew’s too.

So we started the month off with Glen’s birthday treat – a trip to Marseilles to watch the football, we had a lovely time, full of hope & promise ! (oh, well it was good whilst it lasted!)

2016-06-11 18.57.36

Eccleshall’s biannual festival followed – a week full of festivities from open gardens, concerts, cinema nights and ending with the Victorian street market.  I had a stall selling some of the samples I have made over the year. After losing the battle with the wind that insisted on blowing over my quilt stands – I had a good day ( and I had the best view of the Morris dancers)

There was also the Scarecrow Festival at the church, and I made a scarecrow on the theme of Queen Sewing Bee and what a lovely surprise she won 3rd prize.

Queen bee

We’re so lucky in Eccleshall, there is a real community spirit and although I’m not a resident, I feel as a small business, it’s important to support the hard working volunteers that organise these great events.

After the street market, Glen whisked me off for my birthday treat, to Scotland, to climb Ben Nevis!

Now I’m not an avid mountain climber – don’t get me wrong, I love a nice walk in the beautiful British countryside but I can’t say climbing Ben Nevis has been a life long ambition!

A few years ago we climbed Snowdonia and I really struggled! I realised I was very unfit and that  I needed to do something about it – so I started eating healthier and doing some running. I did enjoy it, the Scottish highlands are beautiful and the drive around the edge of Loch Lommand was worth the trip.We made it to the top and despite the lashing rain , low cloud, minus temperatures and snow on the ground it was brilliant! My legs had just about

recovered by about Thursday!

2016-06-26 10.54.05

View from half way up Ben Nevis before we went into the clouds!

And whilst I’ve been gallivanting around the world, there have been lots of classes and workshops going on as usual.

The ‘block of the month’ for June was ‘Card Trick’, not a particularly difficult block but you need to concentrate with the construction!

Chris also held a class on ‘curved piecing’ – two different styles – the formal one, some of us will be familiar with used in ‘Drunkards Path’ and a slightly informal method that involves free motion rotary cutting. Both results are fabulous…

Tracy held a workshop to make a ‘mini charm’ clutch bag – this bag uses 2 1/2″ squares and is a perfect way to use the Moda Candy charms.

Then I had to get ready for the Chase Quilt and Embroidery Festival at the beginning of July but I’ll tell you about that later…..

1 thought on “What happen to June?!

Leave a comment